Age is just a number

My oldest son was born in 2009. I was 19 when he was born. We were a young couple just starting a life together. We had a lot to learn after Brody was born, so I don’t think it was unreasonable for my husband and I to want to wait a few years before our family grew any bigger.

image

A few years turned into four years and then add in a year of trying to conceive, making Brody’s 5th birthday fall 3 months before our little Waylon had arrived.

Personally, I don’t think it was too long between children. Brody was starting kindergarten, we didn’t have two kids in diapers, and he really understood what was going on. We’ve had very few green eyed monster moments and he thinks being a big “Bro” is the coolest thing since the Fonz. He is my kid, the glass is always half full.

image

When I was pregnant and told people that my oldest son would soon be 5, they couldn’t understand why there was such a huge gap. Why would we wait so long? Didn’t we want them to bond? Didn’t we want them to grow up together?

Since when is it a ridiculous idea that you could have something in common with someone of a different age? All of my siblings are 8+ years older than me and we are very close. Since when is it “out there” to wait more than two years between children? That’s what ended up working for our family and we love it. Waylon looks up to Brody already and Brody loves his little brother.

Let’s not look at the distance in numbers between children, but the love between them. What works for some, may not work for others. More power to the moms that wanted their children one after another, and cheers to the ones who said “One and we’re done”. As one who decided to wait it out, I hope for nothing but support and kind words to us all from those strangers whose feet just can’t find their mouths.
image

One thought on “Age is just a number

  1. I agree with 100%. Though my girls were born a short 23 months apart, I don’t think waiting between children is something that should be seen as a bad thing. My husband is 8 years younger then his older brother and 5 years younger then the brother above him. The age separation did not stop my husband from living with his brother,having his brother teach him to drive, talk girls with his brother or any other thing that boys do with each other. Some days I wish that there was a little more space between my girls but having them this close was what worked for us. Well to be completely honest Charli might have been a bit of a surprise but she was/is the surprise we didn’t know we wanted. I wouldn’t have my life any other way and I happy that you found what works for you!

Leave a comment