First Guest Post:: Vegetable Power Stew by Ana Brady

Vegetable Power Stew

I keep a lot of stuff in the freezer. I spend some time cutting and preparing veggies and meat on weekends, and this saves me a lot of time on meal preparation during the week when I have work to do. It also saves me money, because I don’t throw away leftovers, but freeze them.

Today I’ll take out a bag of diced tomatoes, a bag of chopped up onions, a bag of peeled and cut potatoes, a bag of zucchinis, a bag of cauliflower florets, a bag of cut cabbage (cut into small pieces, but not as tiny as for the cabbage salad) and I’ll defrost some bread.

It’s really easy to prepare vegetable power stew. It’s also cool that you can make more in one cooking, and save for meals to come.

Ingredients: 1 pound of potatoes 1 pound of zucchinis ½ of tomatoes 1-2 chopped up onions 1 cauliflower ½ cabbage black pepper, salt, parsley, basil to taste 3 tbsp. of oil

Preparation:

–       Pour 3 tbsp. of oil into a cooking pan. Add onions and saute for 5 minutes, until they are yellow and tender.

–       Throw in cabbage, potatoes, cauliflower, and add 3-4 cups of water. Cook for 15 minutes, then add tomatoes and zucchini. If the stew is too thick, add more hot water.

–     After all veggies are tender enough, season to taste. I usually use some salt, pepper, parsley, and basil, but you can experiment with herbs and spices you like.

This is a very delicious meal that is light in calories, but rich in healthy nutrients. You can eat it with or without bread, and with a salad of your choice. It freezes well in plastic containers, just make sure there’s no air inside, because otherwise you can end up with a weird-tasting stew.

If you don’t like freezing ready-made meals, you can just freeze chopped ingredients, the way I did, and use them when you want to cook.

BIO:

Ana Brady is a mother of two, a writer focusing on food and health related topics, and a member of a designers’ group that recently completed a project on vinyl sheet labels.

Looks delicious!  Thanks so much for sharing, Ana! 

Please let me know if you would like to write a guest post.  Remember; it can be about anything from mommy advice to couponing to recipes or DIY project.  Email your post to motherhoodisntfortheweak@gmail.com!

What did everyone this of Ana’s guest post?  Do you plan to try this recipe out?  I think she did great and I plan to try the recipe myself and I really like the thought of freezing veggies.  Awesome!!

One thought on “First Guest Post:: Vegetable Power Stew by Ana Brady

  1. Sounds really tasty to me!! I love cabbage and veggies in stews! And that’s a great idea to cut up all the veggies on the weekend and just take out a bag of whatever you need during the week!

Leave a Reply

