Make extra cash without having yardsales!

Now I don’t know about the rest of you mommies out there, but I have my son’s baby clothes and toys coming out of my ears!!  I have a huge storage trunk so full of clothes that I can’t close it.  And not like, it’s just full enough that the top cant latch, it’s so full that the top can’t even go down just a little big!

Now these clothes (and don’t even get me started on the toys!) are taking up so much room in my house that it is driving me absolutely insane.  I’ve been saving his clothes from the past 3 years, in hopes that we were going to have another baby sooner than later.  Now we are absolutely sure that we would like to have baby #2 within the next year, but I am running out of room for all these clothes!  And what if I have a girl in the end?  All that saving for nothing then!  Also, with our family, baby #2 will more than likely have plenty of their own clothes without needing any of Brody’s hand-me downs right away.

I was planning on selling things in a yard sale this summer, but I would probably have to have several yard sales within the summer just to get rid of it all.  We are normally really busy during the summer.  Multiple yard sales would be terribly time consuming for me, so I needed to look elsewhere to get rid of clothes.

I also thought about going to second hand stores like Once Upon a Child, which is a great way to get rid of clothes if it works for you.  You have to bring in your items you’re selling, wait for them to look at everything, and then you have to either take what they are willing to pay you for them or take it all back home.  And then sometimes, they won’t take everything you have offered them.  Don’t get me wrong, I love shopping at these stores, but it seems like an awful lot of work to just get some clothes gone.

Then there is always Craigslist.  Personally, I have absolutely no luck buying, selling, or even getting jobs on Craigslist.  Everything ends up being a scam!  I pretty much don’t even bother to look at Craigslist anymore because everything I clicked on was a scam and not what it said it was.

Craigslist may work for you though.  My friend has the best Craigslist luck and is always finding super cheap or free stuff all the time.  But I never have the same outcome.  So I say, if you are planning on buying or selling something on Craigslist do so at your own risk.

Here’s my solution; I was recently introduced to a local Facebook Group in my area that is like a cyber yard sale.  Everyone in the group posts what they have for sale and people buy it.  So far this week, I have sold about $19 worth of my son’s clothes and it’s all to people in my area that would probably be coming to my yard sale anyways.  But the golden thing is, we can meet in public places and they don’t have to know where I live or anything.

If you are in the same position as me, do a search on Facebook for yard sale groups in your area and if you can’t find one, start a group yourself.  You wouldn’t believe how many people join these kinds of groups and post sales every day.  I love this idea and think everyone should look into it.

Make sure though that if you end up buying or selling things in this way that you play by some personal rules.  Don’t meet someone at their house or at yours.  You never know who is going to respond to your post about selling a swing set.  Always meet in public places or bring a buddy with you.  And don’t do anything you are uncomfortable with just to make a dollar.  With Facebook communications, no one really needs your phone number or anything like that.  Be aware and be smart about buying and selling!

I plan to continue to do this virtual yard sale.  Not just for Brody’s old clothes either, but for my clothes, toys, household items that go unused, and anything else we would like to get rid of.

Let me know if you have done this before and if it works for you.  Also let me know if you plan to start buying and selling things this way.

Thanks for reading,

Chelsea

Leave a Reply

