Couponing for Newbies! #1

                The beginning of my couponing adventure started about a year ago.  I had stopped working and began to stay home with my son.  Never actually realizing how much my part-time serving job contributed to our finances, we became tight on money and barely able to afford our bills and groceries.  How cliché, I know!  Isn’t that how it always starts on TV shows when they’re asked how the couponing started?  After starting though, I’m disappointed that it took me that long to get into it!  Think of all the money we could have been saving instead of spending even when we were getting by just fine.

                To launch my coupon mission, I started looking for blogs and videos on YouTube about couponing and saving money in general.  You wouldn’t believe how many blogs are out there that actually teach you how to coupon and all the different ways of couponing there are.  I’d sit at the computer while folding laundry and watch videos on coupon organization methods, where to find coupons, how to shop at certain stores, how to do coupon match ups, how to stack coupons, and more!  (I will provide some of my favorite websites at the end of the blog).

                I learned so much from doing this research in the beginning.  I still continue to do research all the time.  A big misconception readers are having of my blog is that I am an expert.  I am nowhere close to being an expert yet!  I’m still learning every day.  This blog is about my experiences while I’m learning and I’m hoping I can teach a few people at the same time.

If you are new to couponing and are having a hard time figuring it out, don’t get discouraged.  Visit the websites that I provide and just start doing research.  Take notes and decide what will work for you.  Don’t put more on your plate than you can handle at one time.  Take smalls steps and try your best to keep it simple and break things down into pieces.  You can do it.

Tomorrow I will continue this miniseries with some more information on getting started in couponing and where to start with getting organized.

In the meantime, check out these sites for tips and tricks on getting started::    

http://hip2save.com/couponnewbie/ — Hip2Save’s videos are my favorite! There really helped me when I began couponing.  She’s great at explaining everything and she really knows what she’s doing.

http://moneysavingmom.com/tag/31-weeks-to-a-better-grocery-budget-video-series?orderby=date&order=ASCMoney Saving Mom is just an all around awesome website!  I am currently reading her new book, and I am in love with it.  This is a link to her video blog on 31 weeks to a better grocery budget, but she also has many series on making money at home, time management, and more.

http://www.savingaddiction.com/?page_id=2350Saving Addiction is an awesome, local website in the Grand Rapids area.  This is a link to their Coupon 101 section.  They also host coupon classes in the area and post match-up deals for stores like Meijer, Walgreens, Rite-Aid, and more.

http://www.sarahsdeals.net/search/label/Shopping%20Tips%20101 – I am still new to Sarah’s Deals.  She is another local blogger in West Michigan.  This is a link to her shopping tips page.  She also teaches coupon classes in the area including one in Cedar Springs tomorrow.  I will be there after I do my taxes.  The class is free; you just have to bring something to donate to the church that is hosting it.  Make sure to check it out and register for the class!

                These are just a few of my favorites.  Type into YouTube search bar “Couponing 101” or “How to coupon” or “Coupon Newbie” and you should find enough videos to help you out.

                Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for more tips and tricks and be sure to follow my blog, ‘like’ my Facebook page, and share this with a friend or two.

Thank you for reading,

-Chelsea

Leave a Reply

