The Coupon Challenge begins!

                The Coupon Challenge is something I’ve been doing on and off for about a year now.  This is an excellent way for new couponers to get started.  It helps load up your coupon binder, folder, or any other organization method of your choice.  It is also great way for veteran couponers to score even more awesome coupons outside of the Sunday paper and printed coupons.

                 I’m sure you’re on the edge of your seat, just dying to know how on earth you can get these extra coupons!  Well, it’s simple…

  1. Make a list of products and brands that you either use often or are interested in trying
  2. Start going through the list and email the companies one at a time by going to their websites and clicking on “Contact Us.”
  3. Then simply tell them that you enjoy their products or would like to try their products for the first time and ask for any coupons or samples that are available.
  4. Then sit back and wait for a response. 

What’s the worst that could happen?  They say “No, there is nothing available right now”..?  That’s not too disappointing.  Most of the time though, companies are thankful to hear from pleased customers, and are more than happy to send coupons or samples.

So here is the challenge of it all…

I will begin to post which companies have responded to my emails, along with what I receive in the mail.  I will also post the companies that said they couldn’t give out any coupons.  This way, you can spending more time emailing companies that will most likely say yes, than waste your time on the ones that will most likely say no.

                So far, Johnsonville has sent me two $2/1 product coupons and will send them every 90 days as long as I send a request email.  They also have a .55 cents/1 coupon on their website that is available to print off. 

                I also sent an email to Earthbound Farms.  They sent me a response with some information about their company because I have never purchased their products before.  In the email, was also one $1/1 product coupon and a $5/1 product coupon to print out and I was able to print out 2 of each.

                Garden Fresh Gourmet said they’re scheduled to start a coupon program sometime within the first quarter of this year and told me to check back in a few months.

                Eckrich sent me one $1/1 coupon.  This coupon helped me get a pack a Turkey Sausage for $1.00 at Meijer last week!

                Land O’ Lakes sent me two .55 cents/1 product coupons, a mini recipe book, and information on how to sign up for monthly emails and coupons.

Companies that said “No”:

  • P&G
  • Nabisco
  • Kraft
  • Frito Lays
  • Tyson
  • DiGiorno’s Pizza

Please continue to check back as I continue to update on what I receive.  Please feel free to take “The Coupon Challenge” yourself and let me know what you get out of it! Sometimes the companies will send different value coupons to different customers.  You also may think of some products that I haven’t.

Good luck with your challenge experiences,

-Chelsea!

Leave a Reply

